To commemorate the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, the Ronald W. Reagan Society will again host a “Fall of the Wall” ceremony on Nov. 8.

The ceremony will take place at the Ronald W. Reagan Peace Garden at the Eureka College campus at 4 p.m., former Reagan Society Director John Morris will deliver the event’s keynote address, and a reception will follow the ceremony.

Morris, who is in his third year as President of the Peoria Riverfront Museum, will share the insights on the fall that he developed from his interactions with past Honorary Reagan Fellow Award recipients and Reagan Society guest scholars.

Eureka College President Dr. Jamel Santa Cruze Wright will also provide remarks, as will Dr. Octavian Gabor, Professor of Philosophy at Methodist College. A student-led Parade of Flags representing countries that were directly affected by the fall will also be featured.

The Ronald W. Reagan Museum will be open with a commemorative exhibit about this historic moment. Tours will be conducted by the museum curator, Cassandra Chapman, and student docents beginning one hour before the ceremony. 

The rain site for the event is inside the Donald B. Cerf Center. For more information, please contact the Alumni/Development Office at Eureka College at 877-892-7823.  

The Ronald W. Reagan Society of Eureka College is dedicated to helping President Reagan’s alma mater study, teach and share the same lessons and values President Reagan learned from Eureka College and used in his lifetime of leadership roles.

Located in Eureka, Illinois and chartered in 1855, Eureka College cultivated excellence in learning, service and leadership while providing students uniquely personalized and custom educational opportunities.

Originally founded by abolitionist members of Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Eureka College holds the unique distinction of being the first college in Illinois and only the third in the nation to admit men and women on an equal basis. The College, which is located on nearly 70 wooded acres in central Illinois, is the smallest of only 23 colleges and universities to ever award a bachelor’s degree to a future President of the United States.