Merit Scholars

Morton High School students recognized as MHS National Merit Scholars students include (from left) Alexandra Cigelnick, Kyle Davis, and Kristen Canopy. Not pictured are Adam Darlington, Tristan Parker, Kelly Schaffnit and Evan Schick. 

The Morton School District’s Board of Education recognized the Morton High School National Merit Scholar students at the February 4 board meeting.

The prestigious designations are based on each student’s Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) scores.  Morton High School Principal Deidre Ripka stated that about 100 of the MHS students and 1.6 million students throughout the United States take this test.

The Morton High School has seven students who were designated with the title of Commended National Merit Scholar or National Merit Semifinalist. “These students are among the top academic performing students at MHS and in the country,” said Mrs. Ripka.  

The Commended National Merit students represent the top five percent of the 1.6 million students who enter the program. The Morton High School students who qualified for the Commended designation are Alexandra Cigelnick, Adam Darlington, Tristan Parker, Kelly Schaffnit and Evan Schick.

The National Merit Semifinalists represent the top one percent of the national student population. The Morton High School students who qualified at the Semifinalist level are Kyle Davis and Kristen Canopy.

“This designation is just one indicator of the hard work and dedication that our students put into their academics,” said MHS Principal Deidre Ripka. “We are so proud that they are representing Morton High School!”