The County Facilities Sales Tax (CFST) is a one cent per dollar tax placed on qualified purchases that relieves the school district’s reliance on property taxes to fund school facility needs.

The ballot question reads, “Shall a retailer’s occupation tax and a service occupation tax (commonly referred to as a “Sales Tax”) be imposed in Tazewell County at a rate of 1% to be used exclusively for school facility purposes?”.

Morton District 709 County Facilities Sales Tax FAQ’s:

Q1: How will the County Facilities Sales Tax financially benefit the MCUSD 709 residents?

  • Morton District 709 will pay back the current construction bonds and freeze property taxes for one year saving the owner of a $200,000 home roughly $200 per year in the first four years after CFST is passed and permanently reducing property taxes.
  • With the 1 percent sales tax, a family owning a $200,000 home would have to spend over $20,000 per year in taxable items to not come out ahead during the first four years.  

Q2: How does the County Facilities Sales Tax relieve the school district’s reliance on property taxes to fund school facility needs?

  • Visitors to Tazewell County who go out to eat or stay in our hotels contribute to the district facilities revenue, lessening the tax burden on all future facilities projects for Morton citizens.

 Q3: Are my everyday purchases taxed? What is not taxed?

  • Groceries, medication, large purchases like cars, boats, farm equipment are not taxed.   

Q4: What counties around us have passed the County Facilities Sales Tax?

  • All counties surrounding Tazewell (with the exception of McLean) have passed the County Facilities Sales Tax.

Q5: What will the sales tax money be used for?

 In the near term,  

  • Paying off the debt from the recent additions to the elementary schools
  • Freezing the levy for one year, resulting in permanent tax relief
  • Fully funding repairs, maintenance and renovation of existing buildings – an estimated $25 million over the next 15 years  

The facilities tax will be on the ballot on April 2. Early voting begins March 18 at the Tazewell County Clerk’s office. For more information visit:

MUSD 709